Permanent Retrograde
Permanent Retrograde
Lifetimes of Coming Back To You
16
0:00
-1:52

Lifetimes of Coming Back To You

because it's all the same, every time
16

I was going to write a late Sunday essay about relationships, but this happened with auto-tune because I can’t sing.

Permanent Retrograde is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.





Notes under pillows
Flowers on my sideboards
Tears made of rainbows
Whispering trust
I fall in line

Years in the same bed
Cats under our heads
Making up your own words
“Johnnie, no one is like you,
or can do what you do”

There’s a mark where
You covered my name
A mark that your desperate love
Is still the same
That marks my name

And I freeze when I think about the way
You leave

Stroking my hair
Hanging with my kids
Singing Frank Ocean on Mulholland
Promising me
Forever

And we burn our most confidante bridges
And we tear people down when we bleed
You swore you’d never be over me

Lifetimes of coming back to you



16 Comments
Permanent Retrograde
Permanent Retrograde
Happiness, sadness, and everything in between.
No recipes.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kelly Oxford